Coda


This is the last regular post I intend to make on this blog – from time to time there may be the occasional addition, but from now on they will be the exception rather than the rule.

The reason ? I think I’ve more or less exhausted the major stories from my career in steel between the days I started my studies in 1973 and the day I retired in march 2016. No point in mulling over stale topics, and I thought that the first anniversary of my retirement might be a good point in time to stop.

In a way, retirement has been as expected, although the possibility of coming back on a part-time basis to help out did not materialise. As far as the business and the pension scheme is concerned, things are still up in the air. Even though the financial situation of both has improved, neither can claim to be futureproofed to any major extent.

Granted that Tata had their wish in getting the defined benefits scheme shut (I haven’t heard of any date when this closure will happen), and that as a result Port Talbot’s blast furnaces were given a five year lifeline, but to be honest that’s not exactly a secure long-term future. As for the pension scheme, Tata’s ultimate goal to completely divorce itself from the British Steel Pension Scheme is only partially achieved with the closure of the defined benefits scheme, and the possibility of the Pension Protection Scheme still hangs over the proceedings.

The potential merger with Thyssen-Krupp appears to have faded away. One of the possible reasons being, ironically enough, the fact that Thyssen-Krupp’s pension is only kept afloat by the good financial results of its parent company. Would Tata really want to ditch one pension scheme only to lumber itself with another one with equal potential for economic damage ?

Whatever the case, the year since my retirement must have been filled with insecurity for all parties involved. To be honest, even I feel that I would want things to be put to bed as far as the pension arrangements are concerned. The British Steel Pension Scheme has not given any further updates since last January, probably meaning that there’s no clear way forward yet.

Until that happens, I won’t have properly retired.

Leave a Reply

